Learn about our newest features and enhancements!
Recycle Bin
Jamie Beliveau 12/10/2021 3:46:00 PM

CharityEngine®’s brand-new Recycle Bin feature grants users greater control and a more thorough tracking of the items in their system. Deleted items from various pages—Contacts, Transactions, etc.—will no longer simply disappear; rather, they will appear in the Recycle Bin after deletion until you decide to permanently delete them.

Deleting Contacts

Checkboxes

Check the boxes next to the contacts you wish to delete.

Click the arrow next to the top checkbox to show the menu of options. Choose to either Delete Selected or Delete All. Delete Selected will delete only the contacts that you have checked. Delete All will delete every contact available under the filters you have selected.

When you click Delete All or Delete Selected, a pop-up box will appear prompting you to confirm that you want to delete. To confirm the deletion, type Yes in the box.

A banner will appear confirming the deletion. It will also provide a link to view the deleted records in the Recycle Bin.

After a number of contacts has been deleted, you can view them quickly by clicking on the trash can icon in the top right corner.

Deleting Individual Contacts

To delete individual contacts, hover over the three dots to the right of a listing and click Delete.

A pop-up box will appear to confirm the deletion. Click Confirm to delete the contact.

Contacts with Dependencies

If a contact has a dependency, such as a spousal relationship, you cannot bulk delete them using the checkboxes. You must individually delete them. When you hover over the three dots and click Delete, a confirmation box will appear. You can choose to either delete both the contact and the dependency or move the contact.

NOTE: Moving the contact is best when the contact has a transaction attached to it. If you move the contact instead of deleting it, the transaction will simply be moved to another contact.

Deleting Transactions

Checkboxes

Check the boxes next to the contacts you wish to delete.

Click the arrow next to the top checkbox to show the menu of options. Choose to Confirm Selected, Process Selected, Acknowledge Selected, or Delete Selected.

When you click Delete Selected, a pop-up box will appear prompting you to confirm that you want to delete. To confirm the deletion, type Yes in the box.

After a number of transactions has been deleted, you can view them quickly by clicking on the trash can icon in the top right corner.

Deleting Individual Transactions

To delete individual transactions, hover over the three dots to the right of a listing and click Delete.

A pop-up box will appear asking you if you would also like to cancel the invoice associated with the transaction. Toggle Yes or No, and then click Delete.

Recycle Bin Home Page

View the newly deleted records in the Recycle Bin. Find it by navigating to Quick Actions > Search > Recycle Bin. You can also access it by clicking the Recycle Bin icon at the top of various pages.

Hover over the three dots to the right of a listing. Choose whether to restore the listing or delete it permanently.

You can also check the boxes and bulk restore or delete.

Advanced Filter

Use the Advanced Filter to find a specific deleted item.

Permissions

CharityEngine® has put a permission in place so that only authorized accounts can delete transactions and processed payments. To toggle permissions, navigate to the Configuration section and click User Access Roles under Users & Roles.

Find the role you wish to edit, hover over the action options, and click Manage.

Click into the Permissions tab and choose the CharityEngine drop-down.

Under the Miscellaneous section of the CharityEngine drop-down is the option to turn on the reading and writing permissions for deleting transactions (namely, permission to delete them).



Related Articles

Powered by Powered By CharityEngine