Learn about our newest features and enhancements!
Data Governance: How to Manage Data Storage Limits
Authored by: Megan Gill
on 1/30/2024 11:24:00 AM

Introduction

CharityEngine allows users to store data including images and video for usage within web forms, emails, advocacy, and events. Users can also store data files through query exports and automated jobs. This allows user easy access to content and reports within CharityEngine. However, as your database continues to grow, management of storage space should be monitored and managed to avoid overage fees.

Video

Here is a short video that will walk you through the basics of How to Monitor & Manage Data Storage.


Prerequisites

  1. Please reference your current agreement for details on thresholds and overage rates. If you have any questions, please contact your account manager.
  2. Note: Please use care when deleting images, videos, or other content that is used in existing and public facing web forms, auctions, peer-to-peer, events, advocacy, etc. Deletion of these images may result in unintended consequences. 

Instructions - Monitoring Storage Rates

Navigate to the Configuration App > General > Advanced tab to view your account's current usage rates

  1. Report Storage Usage
  2. Media Storage Usage


Instructions - Managing Media Storage Usage

Step 1: Navigate to the Campaigns App > Create & Publish > See more > Media Library to view your account's current media storage

Step 2: Navigate to ACTIONS to expose Detail, Manage, Delete options

Important Note: Please be aware that deletion of content can impact any images used on active forms and emails. 

Leverage the Advanced Filter feature for additional filtering options. 

It is also important to note that this is where all of your media will be stored regardless if the data was uploaded in an email or if it was uploaded to a from. Regardless of how it was loaded into CharityEngine, it counts towards your storage.


Instructions - Managing Reports Storage Usage

Step 1: Navigate to the Automation & Workflow App > General > Import & Export to view your account's current report storage

Step 2: Use the Quick Filters and/or Advanced Filters to locate files. Individual files sizes will be presented within the Results column

Step 3: To remove, navigate to ACTIONS > Delete

Note: Deletion of files will not impact a user's ability to run queries. Deletion of the file will delete the point in time file. Simply return to the query and run as needed.

Note: Most files stored will be associated with Exports. However, you may also locate import files such as Bad Record files. 


Instructions - Managing Data Retention Thresholds

Step 1: Navigate to the Configuration App > General > Account Settings > Advanced tab

Step 2: From the Data File Retention field, set the account threshold for days to retain data job files and click SAVE to secure the results

Note: A value of 0 will result in no automatic file deletion


Instructions - Creating Media Categories 

To assist with ease of organization and management of media content, users can create Media Categories. 

Step 1: Navigate to the Configuration App > Online > Media Categories > Create New

Step 2: Create a category Name (required) > SAVE to secure the selection

Step 3: To assign a category to an existing media file, navigate to the Online App > Media > Media Library

Step 4: Locate the media image, navigate to ACTION > Manage > select Category label > click SAVE

Step 5: Your media element will reflect the label in the Category column and can also be leveraged for sorting through the Quick Filter Category option


FAQs & Additional Reading

Q. Is there an option to automatically manage media storage rates?
A. Automatic management of retention is limited to report storage only. This excludes media file as users may be using repetitive content and automatic deletion may result in impact to public facing content. Media files should be reviewed manually in order to limit any impact to active usage. 

Q. How quickly is the data storage updated following deletion?
A. Upon deletion of a file, data storage values will be updated immediately. When setting the Data Retention File threshold, deletions will take up to 24 hours to initiate.

Q. Does the use of the file retention option also include media files?
A. No. Media files have to be deleted manually.



Related Articles

Powered by Powered By CharityEngine